Thank You – K drama starring Jang Hyuk & Gong Hyo Jin

28 06 2010

This series had me from Hello.  This was the first truly sad k drama I have seen and I cried 3 times in the first episode.  So good, so sad…

The acting was amazing throughout the series and even the supporting cast were all really good.  Shin Sung Rok as Choi Suk Hyun reminds me of a younger Cha Seung Won (City Hall).  Gong Hyo Jin from Ruler of Your Own World was as good in this as she was in ROYOW, she was excellent in a lead role.  Seo Shin Ae as the little girl, might seriously be the least annoying child actor I’ve ever seen.  She was adorable.  Jang Hyuk as Min Ki Seo was really good, an intense actor, he pulled me in and never let go.  This is the first drama I’ve seen him in, but Chuno just made it onto my must watch list.

Basically this series was an acting showcase.  Definitely not a drama for everyone, it could be slow at times and was what I would consider a quiet drama.

I would have put this up as one of my favorites, but it seemed to fizzle and lose its way a bit in the end.

Major spoiler alert:  Did they have to kill off the grandpa?  Just so sad and I’m not sure that was necessary.  It seemed to distract from the story rather than add another layer.  I also disliked how cheesy they got in the last episode, it just wasn’t necessary.  The ending, seriously that’s it?  They gave no romantic payoff.  I guess it was as subtle as the rest of the series, but I would have liked to see a little more connection with the three of them.  It felt like I had a great meal and then was served jello as dessert.  Maybe knowing it doesn’t have an amazing ending would make the whole ride better.

Here’s a series compilation vid with the music by Hun, love this song, it haunts me….

Overall grade:  A –

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

